Standing in your prayers

When you pray I often leave my eyes open.

I see your eyes closed.
I see see your heads bowed.
I to see your lips move.
I hear the quite murmur of your conversations with God.

And as I stand in the midst of your prayers, I wonder what you pray.

Are your prayers a cry for release from the pain this life holds for you?

Do you pray for the violence to end? Do you pray that you will be seen as a person of worth? Do pray that the nightmares will end? Do you pray that one day you won’t have to ‘use’ to numb the pain you feel? Do you pray that God would cease to remain silent in the face of your suffering?

In the midst of your struggle for freedom does your prayer echo the cry of Christ; “my God, my God! Why have you forsaken me?!”

In the midst of your prayers my heart aches with yours.

But then, perhaps your prayers are words of joy, hope and thanksgiving to God who is liberating and redeeming you?

In your prayers do you praise God for new beginnings? Do you thank God for the joy your children bring? Do you thank God for the opportunity to be creative? Do you thank God for the new life that is being breathed into you? Do you thank God for the ways in which you have being liberated into new life giving ways of being?

In the midst of your journey to freedom do your prayers resound with praise for the in-breaking of Christ’s resurrection life?

In the midst of your prayers my heart bursts with joy with yours.

As I stand in the midst of your prayers I also pray.

I pray that you will meet the God who is found in both the heartbreak and the hope. God with you in the moments of pain crying out for it to end, God on the cross. God with you in the moments in which new life springs forth from unexpected places, God resurrected.

When you pray I often leave my eyes open.

I see your eyes closed.
I see see your heads bowed.
I to see your lips move.
I hear the quite murmur of your conversation with God.

As I stand in the midst of your prayers I meet the God who is with us, and it is beautiful.

One thought on “Standing in your prayers

  1. Pingback: Standing in your prayers | Dan J Lander's WEBLOG

Leave a Reply

